When a user no longer has a valid account on the clusters any files belonging to him on home are removed from the servers. They will remain on tape backup for 6 months after the user has left EPFL. The head of the laboratory is responsible for ensuring that these data are correctly managed. He or she can ask for a retrieval from tapebackup.
The work file-system is divided by laboratory and, as such, it is the responsibility of the head of the laboratory to ensure that the data are correctly manageddirectories of users who leave EPFL cannot be deleted by their colleagues, an intervention is required.
Any "professional data" of users who leave EPFL should be passed on to "a person designated by the head of the unit" (translated from LEX 6.1.4, Article 25]).
Please contact us to change the ownership of any files/folders to a person designated by the responsible of the group that can assess the value of the data and handle it accordingly (delete or archive).
Once a user is no longer accredited, files belonging to them in scratch can be deleted without notice.